Emotionalism

Today I ended up in a pretty interesting discussion about the meaning of music, and why I think that so called "emotional" or "sad" music is more appealing than let's say, "happy" or"problem-free" music. The reason to why I think that is of course in my world pretty simple. Not just because I like the actual music, but because the lyrics are just more beautiful, more intelligent and contain more honest emotions than the other, in my world, "shallow" music does. These songs that I'm talking about is music by e.g. Silverstein, Escape the Fate, Three Days Grace and so on, songs that can be considered "emo" by a lot of people.

To me, music is something that can give you hope just from listening to it, since it helps you describe your feelings with words. Sure, words you have borrowed from others, but it still provides guidence while in the process of trying to understand yourself. I believe that I would be even more lost than I already am if I didn't have music. I always appreciate getting to know new sounds, when I think it's good of course, since I think that it's one of the most important things in my life. What makes it so special is just the fact that it comforts me when I need it to, since it means that others have felt the same way. It can give me different perspectives on things that concern me etc. So, according to me, it's the best kind of therapy. I wouldn't do well without it. to quote one of my t-shirts; Without music life would not be fair

/Madeleine

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback